Using a custom list? Then this is for you, otherwise, you don't need to do this (for example, you don't need to reconfirm customers on your "Accepted Marketing" list).

If you have custom lists where the customer did not confirm their opt-in, you will need to re-confirm their marketing consent.

Situations you'll want to reconfirm marketing consent for customers

  • A customer subscribed to your newsletter list using a subscription form on your website but it did not have subscription confirmation switched on (also known as double opt-in).

FAQ:

My business is outside the EU and I have both EU and non-EU subscribers, can I separate out my non-EU subscribers, since this doesn't apply to them?
We don't record the location of subscribers recorded at the time of signup so we can't split them up into groups. You may however be able to split out the customers/subscribers from your store's admin section, but we cannot advise on this.

How to set up reconfirmation for Customers

Create & send a reconfirmation email for your purchasing customers

  1. Create a new newsletter, selecting "All Customers" under "Who is this email being sent to".
  2. Here's some text you could use in your newsletter:

    A while ago you signup up on our website to receive news and information from {{companyName}} and we'd like to know whether you'd still like to continue to hear from us.

    On May 25, 2018, there's a new General Data Protection Regulation ("GDPR") coming into effect that affects EU citizens and businesses, so we need to confirm that you would like to receive information from us.

    If you'd like to continue hearing from us, please update your subscription settings, otherwise we'll remove you from our list on May 25.
  3. Select the "Optin" content block and add this below the text. This will subscribe your customers to the "Accepted marketing" list.
  4. Now you're set up - time to send your newsletter! You may also want to send a reminder for this too, to ensure maximum impact. After May 25, you'll no longer be able to contact the people on the original list, only the customers who have subscribed to "accepted marketing".
Did this answer your question?